Technical solution

Food adulteration test service, preservation test evaluation, EMP (environmental monitoring plan), ability test service.

Food adulteration test service

  Food-related risks can be divided into four major aspects: food quality, food safety, food defense, and food fraud (Spink and Moyer, 2011). Food fraud refers to the deliberate mixing, dilution, substitution, counterfeiting and mislabeling of any part of the food supply chain, which may happen during raw materials, semi-finished products, finished products production or food packaging. Food fraud is driven by the temptation of economic interests. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration refers to this type of fraud as "economic motived adulteration."

  In the past, most food adulteration behavior was only exposed to the outside world through on-site factory audits or reported by food operators. In recent years, thanks to the improvement of inspection and analysis technology, adulteration can be identified with the support of scientific data. However, food processing technology has been changing on a monthly basis, which increases the diversity of food adulteration. A single inspection method may not be able to detect all adulteration at once. In response to different levels and types of food adulteration, SGS provides various inspection services; for complex food adulteration and reduces the risk of food adulteration by using different detection tools.

 

  SGS uses stable isotope mass spectrometry, polymerase chain reaction (PCR), next-generation sequencing (NGS), high-resolution mass spectrometer and other inspection methods to provide the following food adulteration testing services:

  • Claiming natural origin but adding synthetic substances
  • Mix/replace high-priced ingredients with lower-priced ingredients
  • Genetically modified (GMO) food mixes/replaces non-GMO foods
  • Incorrect indication of plant and animal species
  • Mixed with other species as target species

 

Preservation test evaluation

  The " Act Governing Food Safety and Sanitation " regulates that the food companies should use Chinese and common symbols to clearly indicate the expiration date on the container or outer packaging of food. The expiration date of the food represents the deadline for maintaining the value of the product. A complete evaluation of the food's expiration date to ensure that the food is within the effective date and avoid spoilage or other violations of food hygiene management regulations is the challenge that all food companies will face.

  Food quality changes are affected by the raw materials used, the manufacturing process, and the transportation, storage, and sales environment. Therefore, to determine the expiration date of the food, it is necessary to fully consider various objective indicators that cause food deterioration and design a preservation test and sampling plan.

  SGS's food preservation test is a project-based service. We will propose a preservation test plan based on the product type, sales status, regulatory requirements and expected time of the product. We assist the company to fully evaluate the product's risk factors during storage and work out the shelf life and expiration date of the product.

 

EMP (environmental monitoring plan)

  The Food Factory Environmental Monitoring Program (EMP) 's primary purpose is to conduct sampling and testing processes for hazardous pollution control measures and its standards are much higher than those of food safety regulations or Good Food Hygiene Practices (GHP). The food hygiene and safety issues that the public focuses on mostly discuss the risk control of raw materials, the microbiology and quality management of end products, etc. However, most of the problems caused by pathogenic bacteria, spoilage bacteria and allergens to consumers are immediate and severe hazards. Most of these contaminations originate from the manufacturing process, which may be the poor environment of the production plant or the operators' poor hygiene habits. Via long-term monitoring of contamination sources and occur frequency in the factory area so that contaminations in the food manufacturing process can be effectively reduced.

  In addition, the US FDA Food Safety Modern Act (FSMA) emphasizes the importance of EMP, through long-term monitoring of hazardous contamination sources in the food factory environment and adopts valid cleaning and disinfection procedures to prevent the end products from contamination. Therefore, for food manufacturers, to maintain sustainable operations and continue to be internationally competitive, establishing an EMP environmental monitoring plan on scientific basis is an important issue for effectively monitoring product hygiene and safety.

  The EMP environmental monitoring plan is a relatively new concept. The cases with past implementation experience are still increasing. The SGS food service team has been monitoring the FSMA since the bill passed. SGS frequently discusses with experts and scholars and formed a consulting group to provide consulting services to food companies who need to understand EMP-related content. The SGS food service team will hold EMP planning training courses from time to time. If you want to know more about the EMP environmental monitoring program, please contact the SGS food service team!

 

Proficiency testing service

  Proficiency testing is the primary choice for inspection agencies to obtain ISO/IEC 17025 proficiency certification. According to the requirements for proficiency testing activities announced by the Taiwan Accreditation Foundation (TAF) (TAF-CNLA-R05), to ensure the accuracy of laboratory measurement results. ISO/IEC 17025 certified laboratories are required to regularly participate in proficiency tests depend on the risk level for monitoring and continuously evaluating the laboratories’ inspection capabilities. Government supervision sectors or some enterprises will also require the commissioned testing laboratories to participate in proficiency testing to assure the reliability of their test reports.

Benefits that participating in the proficiency testing can help the laboratory achieve:

  • Identify differences between laboratories
  • Compare detection methods or procedures
  • Confirm the measurement uncertainty of the laboratory evaluation
  • Training and assessment tools for analysts
  • Review the laboratory testing quality trends and risk management

  SGS cooperates with LGC to provide LGC AXIO proficiency testing services. LGC is a leader in international proficiency testing services and is also the first proficiency testing supplier accredited by UKAS that complies with ISO/IEC17043 (UKAS001). As a national-level measurement center in the UK, LGC provides more than 1,700 capability test programs, including food, beverage, environmental, clinical, pharmaceutical, consumer safety (cosmetics, toys, etc.), petroleum, etc.

  SGS provides you with one-on-one specialist services, not only assisting you in selecting suitable test items and sessions but also coordinating the transportation of samples and explaining the precautions of the pre-treatment process. Besides, SGS can provide in-depth operating instructions for LGC's ability test platform and offer advanced report interpretation and related suggestion services after the results report is released. Therefore, as long as you sign up through SGS, you can not only save the tedious English communication with LGC but also make in-depth consultations with the SGS professional team based on the results and have individual account passwords to report test results and review reports, which provides considerable privacy and autonomy.

Taipei_Food Service
TEL
02-2299-3279  #6650~6668
FAX
02-2299-1687
ADD
4F., No. 125, Wugong Rd., Wugu Dist., New Taipei City 248016 , Taiwan
Taichung_Food Service
TEL
04-2359-1515  #2701~2704
FAX
04-2359-2948
ADD
No. 9, Gongyequ 14th Rd., Xitun Dist., Taichung City 407271 , Taiwan
Kaohsiung_Food Service
TEL
07-301-2121  #3251~3255
FAX
07-301-2867
ADD
No. 61, Kaifa Rd., Nanzi Processing Export Zone, Nanzi Dist., Kaohsiung City 811637 , Taiwan

技術解決方案

食品攙偽測試服務、保存試驗評估、EMP〔環境監測計畫〕、能力試驗服務

食品攙偽測試服務

  食品相關的風險可分為四大面向,分別是食品品質、食品安全性、食品防禦及食品詐欺 (Spink and Moyer, 2011)。其中食品詐欺是指食品供應鏈中的任何一個環節遭蓄意地摻混、稀釋、取代、假冒及錯誤標示的行為,其可能發生在原料、半成品、成品或食品包裝中。食品詐欺的動機多出於經濟利益的誘惑,美國食品藥物管理局 (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) 將這類的詐欺稱為「經濟動機摻偽」。

  以往這類食品摻偽的行為大多僅能透過工廠實地稽核的方式或食品從業人員舉發而被外界所知,近年因檢驗分析技術的提升,已能透過科學的數據加以佐證,協助鑑別摻偽的食品。然而食品加工技術日新月異,食品摻偽的方式也越來越多元,單以一種檢驗方法很可能無法一網打盡,為了因應不同程度與型態的食品摻偽,SGS提供多種檢驗服務;針對複雜的食品摻偽型態,也能透過合併使用不同檢測工具,發揮如同篩網的功能,層層降低食品摻偽之風險。

 

  SGS利用穩定同位素質譜分析、聚合脢連鎖反應 (PCR) 、次世代定序 (NGS)、高解析質譜儀等檢驗方法提供下列幾種攙偽測試服務:

  • 宣稱天然來源但添加人工合成物質
  • 以較低價之成分來源混充/取代高價成分之來源
  • 基因改造 (GMO) 食品混充/取代非基改食品
  • 動植物物種標示錯誤
  • 以其他物種混充目標物種

 

 

保存試驗評估

  《食品安全衛生管理法》 規範食品業者於食品之容器或外包裝,應以中文及通用符號,明顯標示有效日期,而食品的有效日期代表可保持產品價值的最終期限,完整的評估食品有效日期,確保食品在有效日期內,避免變質、腐敗或其他違反食品衛生管理法規之情事發生,是所有食品業者都會面臨到的課題。

  食品的品質變化會受到所使用的原料、製造過程,以及運輸、儲存及販售環境等因素的影響,因此在制定食品的有效日期時,需要充分考量各種造成食品劣變的客觀指標,並設計保存試驗與抽樣計畫。

  SGS 的食品保存試驗屬於專案型的服務項目,我們會依據業者的產品類型、販售狀態、法規要求以及期望時間,提出保存試驗計畫書,協助業者完整評估產品於儲存過程中各風險因子的變化,從而制定出產品的保存期限與有效日期。

 

 

EMP〔環境監測計畫〕

  食品廠環境監控計畫 (EMP)主要目的是針對危害污染控制措施進行採樣與測試的過程,其標準相較於食安法規或食品良好衛生規範準則 (GHP) 都還高出許多。社會大眾關注的食品衛生安全議題,討論的大多是原料的風險把關,以及終端產品的微生物與品質管理等。但病原菌、腐敗菌與過敏原的汙染對消費者所造成的問題多半是立即且嚴重的危害,而這些的汙染多半源自於製造過程,可能是生產廠區的環境不佳或操作人員衛生習慣等原因,經由長期監測廠區內的汙染源及發生頻率,才能有效降低食品製程中的汙染。

  此外,美國FDA食品安全現代法案 (FSMA) 中強調EMP的重要性,透過長時期監控食品廠環境中的危害汙染源,並採取經驗效的清潔消毒程序,以預防終產品被汙染。所以對於食品製造業者來說,為了永續經營並持續具備國際競爭力,以科學基礎制定EMP環境監測計畫,是有效地監控產品衛生安全的重要議題。

  EMP環境監控計畫是一種比較新穎的觀念,過往有執行經驗的案例仍然持續增加當中,SGS食品服務團隊自FSMA法案通過後至今持續關注法案中的規範,除了時常與專家學者進行討論,且更進一步組成諮詢小組,為了給予需要了解EMP相關內容的食品業者提供諮詢服務,SGS食品服務團隊將不定期舉辦EMP規劃訓練課程。若您想進一步了解EMP環境監控計畫,歡迎與SGS食品服務團隊聯繫!

 

 

能力試驗服務

  能力試驗是檢驗機構獲得ISO/IEC 17025能力證明的首要選擇,依據全國認證基金會 (TAF) 公告之能力試驗活動要求 (TAF-CNLA-R05),為確保實驗室量測結果的正確性,已通過ISO/IEC 17025之認證實驗室依風險程度,需要定期參加能力試驗,用以監督並持續評估實驗室之檢驗能力。政府監管單位或部分企業,也會要求所委託測試的實驗室參加能力試驗,以證明其檢測報告的可靠性。

參與能力試驗可以幫助實驗室達到的效益:

  • 識別實驗室之間的差異
  • 比較檢測方法或程序
  • 確認實驗室評估的量測不確定度
  • 分析人員的培訓與考核工具
  • 檢視實驗室檢測品質趨勢與風險管理

  SGS與LGC合作,可提供LGC AXIO能力試驗的服務,LGC是國際能力試驗服務的領導者,也是第一個獲得英國UKAS認可符合ISO/IEC17043的能力試驗供應商 (UKAS001)。身為英國國家級的量測中心,LGC提供包括食品、飲料、環境、臨床、製藥、消費者安全 (化粧品、玩具等)、石油等超過1,700個能力試驗計畫。

  SGS為您提供一對一的專員服務,不僅協助您選擇適合的試驗項目和場次,還能協調樣品的運送,以及說明前處理過程的注意事項。另外還能針對LGC的能力試驗平台做深入的操作說明,甚至在結果報告公布後,提供進階的報告解讀以及相關建議服務。所以只要透過SGS報名,您不僅可省去與LGC繁瑣的英文溝通,並且能依結果向SGS的專業團隊做深入的諮詢,並且擁有個別的帳號密碼回報測試結果及檢視報告,具備相當的隱私性與自主性。

台北-食品服務部
TEL
02-2299-3279  分機6650~6668
FAX
02-2299-1687
ADD
24886 新北市五股區(新北產業園區)五工路125號4樓
台中-食品服務部
TEL
04-2359-1515  分機2701~2704
FAX
04-2359-2948
ADD
40755 西屯區台中工業區十四路9號
高雄-食品服務部
TEL
07-301-2121  分機3251~3255
FAX
07-301-2867
ADD
81170 高雄市楠梓加工區開發路61號