FOOD SHELF LIFE TESTING

SGS's food shelf life testing service can assist food manufacturers to comply with legal or commercial requirements by confirming that the product is labeled with the appropriate "use by/expiry date" and/or "best before" date.
FOOD SHELF LIFE TESTING

  The "Act Governing Food Safety and Sanitation " regulates that the food companies should use Chinese and common symbols to clearly indicate the expiry date in the container or outer packaging of food. The expiry date of the food represents the deadline for maintaining the value of the product, and as food distribution and sales become more and more diverse. How to sufficiently evaluate the expiry date of the food to ensure that the food avoids spoilage, corruption (spoilage) or other violations of food hygiene management regulations within the expiry date is crucial.

 

The definition of Expiry date, shelf life, and best before

1. Expiry date

  The expiry date is the time point, which represents the final date that the food can maintain the product value under certain storage conditions, such as "expiry date: YYYYMMDD". The expiry date is a statutory mandatory labeling item. According to Article 22 of the Act Governing Food Safety and Sanitation, the container or outer packaging of food and food ingredients should be clearly marked with the expiry date in Chinese and common symbols.

2. Shelf life

  The shelf life is a time range, which represents during a period that the food can maintain the product value under certain storage conditions, such as "shelf life: two years". The shelf life is required to be compulsorily labelled in certain food categories, such as fresh milk, skimmed milk, evaporated milk, sweetened whole condensed milk, sweetened condensed skimmed milk, cream, flavored milk, fermented milk, synthetic milk and other liquid milk products should be marked with the shelf life.

3. Best before

  Best before, this term is more common in foods from Japan. It usually represents the time when the food can maintain the best flavor and quality, but it does not mean that it will become corrupted (spoilage) and inedible after this time. Because the best before has not been given the statutory definition in Taiwan. Therefore,  When food companies label the expiry date of imported food, they can only request the manufacturer to provide relevant information that is equivalent to the definition of Taiwan’s “expiry date” If it is not possible to provide relevant information that is equivalent to the definition of " expiry date " in Taiwan, the dates of "best before" shall be regarded as " expiry date ".

 

How to formulate the shelf life and expiry date of food?

  The quality of food changes will be affected by the raw materials used, the manufacturing process, and the transportation, storage and sales environment. Therefore, when formulating the expiry date of the food, it is necessary to fully consider various objective indicators that cause food deterioration and design a shelf-life evaluation and sampling plan. The Food and Drug Administration of the Ministry of Health and Welfare issued guidelines for the evaluation of the expiry date of commercially available packaged foods on April 24, 2013, suggesting six steps for the evaluation of the expiry date.

 

When do I need to perform a shelf-life evaluation?

  Compared with the rule of thumb or the shelf life and expiry date established by comparing homogeneous products on the market, the shelf-life evaluation of food is a relatively objective and scientific method of evaluating shelf life and expiry date. A too long shelf life will increase the risk of spoilage before its expiry date and a too short shelf life will reduce the circulation time of the product and cause excessive product recycling and waste. Therefore, in order to avoid risks and waste, we recommend that the companies perform shelf-life evaluation under the following conditions.

  New products: Before new products launch in the market, perform a shelf-life evaluation to establish an expiry date.

  Alteration of the product: if the formula is changed or the processing method is changed, confirm whether there is a change in the expiry date.

  Buyer acknowledgement: The buyer confirms whether the claimed shelf life of the seller’s products is reasonable.

 

What are the advantages of cooperating with SGS for fshelf-life evaluation of food?

1. Complete sample storage and analysis energy( A full capacity for sample storage and a completed capability of analysis)

  SGS has many years of experience in food test SGS has a wide capability of microbiological and chemical tests as well as a storage space with temperature and humidity control, which can meet the customers’ requirements with specific conditions. We have also set standard organoleptic evaluation lab room where can assist the companies in the complete implementation of various evaluation indicators.

  Our hardware facilities: 4 refrigerators, 3 freezers, 12 compartments of constant temperature and humidity storage space and a sensory evaluation laboratory (including 10 locations of evaluation rooms)

2. Quality requirements

  SGS is an accredited laboratory of the Food and Drug Administration of the Ministry of Health and Welfare. From sample introduction, storage, sampling and testing, to data recording and report output, we follow the ISO/IEC 17025 laboratory quality management system. Regularly record and calibrate the room temperature, standardized testing service process, electronic management of data and related records are SGS's quality requirements.

 

What is the service process of SGS food  shelf-life evaluation of food?

  SGS's food shelf-life evaluation of food is a project service. We will propose a shelf-life evaluation plan based on the product type, sales status, regulatory requirements and expected time of the company. Assist the company to fully evaluate the risk factors of the product during the storage process and formulate the shelf life and expiry date of the product.

Taipei_Food Service
TEL
02-2299-3279  #6650~6668
FAX
02-2299-1687
ADD
4F., No. 125, Wugong Rd., Wugu Dist., New Taipei City 248016 , Taiwan
Taichung_Food Service
TEL
04-2359-1515  #2701~2704
FAX
04-2359-2948
ADD
No. 9, Gongyequ 14th Rd., Xitun Dist., Taichung City 407271 , Taiwan
Kaohsiung_Food Service
TEL
07-301-2121  #3251~3255
FAX
07-301-2867
ADD
No. 61, Kaifa Rd., Nanzi Processing Export Zone, Nanzi Dist., Kaohsiung City 811637 , Taiwan

保存期限檢測服務FOOD SHELF LIFE TESTING

SGS 的食品保存期限檢測服務可協助食品製造商遵循法定或商業要求,經由確認產品標示適當的「此日期前食用」及/或「最佳食用」日期。
保存期限檢測服務

《食品安全衛生管理法》 規範食品業者於食品之容器或外包裝,應以中文及通用符號,明顯標示有效日期,而食品的有效日期代表可保持產品價值的最終期限,面對越來越多樣化的食品流通販賣,如何完整的評估食品有效日期,確保食品在有效日期內,避免變質、腐敗或其他違反食品衛生管理法規之情事發生,實為重要。

 

有效日期、保存期限及賞味期限的定義 Expiry date, shelf life, and best before

01.有效日期
有效日期是時間點,代表食品在特定儲存條件之下,可保持產品價值的最終期限,例如「有效日期:Ο年Ο月Ο日」。有效日期是法定的強制標示項目,依照食品安全衛生管理法第二十二條的規範,食品及食品原料之容器或外包裝,應以中文及通用符號,明顯標示有效日期。

02.保存期限
保存期限是時間範圍,代表食品在特定儲存條件下,可保持產品價值的期間,例如「保存期限:二年」。保存期限在特定的食品類別中被要求應強制標示,例如鮮乳、脫脂乳、淡煉乳、加糖全脂煉乳、加糖脫脂煉乳、乳油(Cream)、調味乳、發酵乳、合成乳及其他液態乳製品應加標示保存期限。

03.賞味期限
賞味期限,這個名詞較常見於來自日本的食品,通常代表食品可保持最佳的風味及品質的時間點,但並非代表超過此時間點便腐敗而不可食用,由於賞味期限在我國規範中沒有明確定義,食品業者在標示進口食品有效日期時,僅在能請製造商提供足以佐證相等於我國「有效日期」定義的相關資料,方可於包裝上標示與原包裝上標示的「best before」和「賞味期限」日期不同的「有效日期」。若無法提供足以佐證相等於我國「有效日期」定義的相關資料,則「best before」和「賞味期限」日期則應視為「有效日期」。

 

如何制定食品的保存期限及有效日期?

食品的品質變化會受到所使用的原料、製造過程,以及運輸、儲存及販售環境等因素的影響,因此在制定食品的有效日期時,需要充分考量各種造成食品劣變的客觀指標,並設計保存試驗與抽樣計畫,衛生福利部食品藥物管理署於民國 102年4月24日發布市售包裝食品有效日期評估指引,建議了有效日期評估的 6 個步驟。

 

什麼時候需要執行保存試驗?

相較於經驗法則或是比照市面同質性產品而制定的保存期限及有效日期,食品的保存試驗是相對客觀與科學的保存期限與有效日期評估方式,而過長的保存期限會增加產品在有效日期前就腐敗的風險,過短的保存期限則會減少產品的流通時間,造成過多的產品回收與浪費,因此為了避免風險與浪費,我們建議業者在以下的狀況執行保存試驗。

新產品:新上市產品,在販售前執行保存試驗制定有效日期。 
變更產品:配方更改或是加工方式改變,確認有效日期是否有變化。 
買方認同:買方確認賣方產品宣稱的保存期限是否合理。

 

與 SGS 合作食品保存試驗的優勢為何?

1、完整的樣品保存及分析能量
SGS 擁有多年的食品檢驗及風險規劃經驗,除了廣泛的實驗室微生物及化學測試能力,並設置有溫溼度控制的儲存空間,可以滿足業者高低溫度及高低溼度的樣品儲存要求,我們也設立了標準型的感官品評室,可以協助業者完整執行各項評估指標。 
我們的硬體設施: 4 台冷藏冰箱 、 3 台冷凍冰箱 、 12 格恆溫恆濕儲存空間 、 感官品評實驗室(包含 10 個位置的品評小室 )

2、品質要求
SGS 是衛生福利部食品藥物管理署的認可實驗室,從樣品的進樣、保存、抽樣測試,到數據紀錄與報告產出,我們遵循 ISO/IEC 17025 實驗室品質管理系統,定期紀錄與校正保存空間溫度,標準化測試服務流程,電子化管理數據與相關紀錄,是 SGS 對品質的要求。

 

SGS 食品保存試驗服務流程為何?

SGS 的食品保存試驗屬於專案型的服務項目,我們會依據業者的產品類型、販售狀態、法規要求以及期望時間,提出保存試驗計畫書,協助業者完整評估產品於儲存過程中各風險因子的變化,從而制定出產品的保存期限與有效日期。

台北-食品服務部
TEL
02-2299-3279  分機6650~6668
FAX
02-2299-1687
ADD
24886 新北市五股區(新北產業園區)五工路125號4樓
台中-食品服務部
TEL
04-2359-1515  分機2701~2704
FAX
04-2359-2948
ADD
40755 西屯區台中工業區十四路9號
高雄-食品服務部
TEL
07-301-2121  分機3251~3255
FAX
07-301-2867
ADD
81170 高雄市楠梓加工區開發路61號